Vietnam Travel News

2020 a year of losses for tourism in Vietnam

For Vietnam's tourism industry, 2020 was a nightmarish year due to the Covid 19 crisis and historic floods.

The number of foreign tourists in Vietnam reached an all-time high of 18 million in 2019, while the tourism industry took in VND720 trillion ($30.8 billion). For 2020, the government had set a target of receiving 20 million foreign visitors, with an expected industry revenue of $35 billion.

The country saw about two million foreign visitors in January, up 32.8 percent from a year earlier, before expectations were dashed when Covid-19 hit Vietnam on Jan. 23.

Starting in late January, Vietnam's Civil Aviation Administration suspended all flights to and from areas in China affected by the coronavirus and stopped issuing visas to visitors from those locations. China was Vietnam's largest feeder tourism market with nearly 4.8 million arrivals in 2019.

The government also canceled many flights to South Korea, the country's second-largest tourism market, in late February and suspended visa-free travel for South Koreans to prevent the spread of the coronavirus.

The historic post office in downtown Saigon stands abandoned in April 2020.

The situation worsened in March when many Vietnamese nationals returning from the U.S. and Europe were infected with the virus along with foreigners coming from the same countries. This prompted authorities to impose a three-week social distancing campaign on April 1 and suspend all international flights.

All popular tourist destinations and other entertainment venues in the country, including bars and karaoke parlors, were closed, and people were asked to stay home and not gather in large crowds.

The once crowded beach is empty after a lockdown in Da Nang, Vietnam, Tuesday, July 28, 2020. Vietnam had sealed off its third-largest city for two weeks after more than a dozen cases of COVID-19 were found at a hospital. (AP Photo/Luke Groves)

At the end of April, tourist hotspots were allowed to reopen, although the country remained closed to foreign visitors. Due to the strict restrictions on international travel, the tourism industry has turned to boosting domestic tourism.

Thanks to efficient Covid-19 controls, Vietnam's tourist hotspots were crowded with throngs of local tourists on weekends.

However, the sector stalled again when the first local case of infection occurred in Da Nang on July 25, ending a 99-day streak without transmission in the municipality.

Many places closed their tourist attractions and deployed anti-pandemic measures to contain the spread of infection domestically. The popular Da Nang, home to many famous beaches, and Quang Nam, known for the UNESCO cultural site of Hoi An, then became the country's biggest coronavirus hotspots, both being closed for more than a month.

Phong Nha flood
Between early October and mid-November, the central region and parts of the central highlands were hit by a series of storms that brought torrential rains and caused severe flooding and landslides.

Historic flooding in central Vietnam again put the brakes on the tourism industry. Between early October and mid-November, the central region and parts of the central highlands were hit by a series of storms that brought torrential rains and caused severe flooding and landslides.

At least 192 people were killed and 57 missing, with losses totaling VND30 trillion ($1.3 billion), which the government said was "the worst damage in decades."

Popular tourist spots in central Vietnam such as Hue, Hoi An and Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park in Quang Binh Province were inundated by floodwaters and closed to tourists.

 

Vietnam could lose $23 billion in tourism revenue this year due to the coronavirus pandemic, equivalent to about 75 percent of last year's industry revenue, Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Nguyen Ngoc Thien told the National Assembly last month.

Due to the closure of borders and suspension of flights, Vietnam welcomed 3.8 million visitors in the January-November period, down 76.6 percent year-on-year, while total tourism revenue is estimated at VND16.6 trillion ($722 million), down 59 percent year-on-year.

So far, Vietnam has gone more than three weeks without community transmission, following a mini-outbreak in HCMC with four locally transmitted cases, triggered by a Vietnam Airlines flight attendant who violated quarantine regulations.

Thanks to strict quarantine and contact tracing measures, Vietnam has managed to keep Covid-19 in check with only 1,432 infections and 35 deaths.

Leave a Replay

2020 © Copyright - Unseen VietNam Tours

2020 ein verlustreiches Jahr für den Tourismus in Vietnam

Für die vietnamesische Tourismusindustrie war 2020 aufgrund der Covid-19-Krise und der historischen Überschwemmungen ein albtraumhaftes Jahr.

Die Zahl der ausländischen Touristen in Vietnam erreichte 2019 ein Allzeithoch von 18 Millionen, während die Tourismusindustrie 720 Billionen VND (30,8 Milliarden Dollar) einnahm. Für 2020 hatte sich die Regierung zum Ziel gesetzt, 20 Millionen ausländische Besucher zu empfangen, mit einem erwarteten Branchenumsatz von 35 Milliarden Dollar.

Das Land sah im Januar etwa zwei Millionen ausländische Besucher, ein Anstieg von 32,8 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr, bevor die Erwartungen enttäuscht wurden, als Covid-19 Vietnam am 23. Januar traf.

Ab Ende Januar setzte die vietnamesische Zivilluftfahrtbehörde alle Flüge von und nach den vom Coronavirus betroffenen Gebieten in China aus und stoppte die Ausstellung von Visa für Besucher aus diesen Orten. China war Vietnams größter Markt für Zubringertourismus mit fast 4,8 Millionen Ankünften im Jahr 2019.

Die Regierung hat Ende Februar auch viele Flüge nach Südkorea, dem zweitgrößten Tourismusmarkt des Landes, gestrichen und die Visafreiheit für Südkoreaner ausgesetzt, um eine Ausbreitung des Coronavirus zu verhindern.

Das historische Postamt in der Innenstadt von Saigon steht im April 2020 verlassen da.

Die Situation verschlimmerte sich im März, als viele vietnamesische Staatsbürger, die aus den USA und Europa zurückkehrten, zusammen mit Ausländern, die aus den gleichen Ländern kamen, mit dem Virus infiziert wurden. Dies veranlasste die Behörden, am 1. April eine dreiwöchige soziale Distanzierungskampagne zu verhängen und alle internationalen Flüge auszusetzen.

Alle beliebten touristischen Ziele und andere Unterhaltungseinrichtungen im Land, einschließlich Bars und Karaoke-Salons, wurden geschlossen, und die Menschen wurden aufgefordert, zu Hause zu bleiben und sich nicht in großen Menschenmengen zu versammeln.

Der einst überfüllte Strand ist nach einer Abriegelung in Da Nang, Vietnam, am Dienstag, 28. Juli 2020, leer. Vietnam hatte seine drittgrößte Stadt für zwei Wochen abgeriegelt, nachdem mehr als ein Dutzend Fälle von COVID-19 in einem Krankenhaus gefunden wurden. (AP Photo/Luke Groves)

Ende April durften die touristischen Hotspots wieder geöffnet werden, obwohl das Land für ausländische Besucher geschlossen blieb. Aufgrund der strengen Beschränkungen für internationale Reisen hat sich die Tourismusbranche darauf verlegt, den Inlandstourismus anzukurbeln.

Dank effizienter Covid-19-Kontrollen waren die touristischen Hotspots Vietnams an den Wochenenden mit Scharen von einheimischen Touristen überfüllt.

Die Branche kam jedoch wieder zum Stillstand, als am 25. Juli in Da Nang der erste lokale Infektionsfall auftrat und damit die 99-tägige Serie ohne Übertragung in der Gemeinde endete.

Viele Orte schlossen ihre Touristenattraktionen und setzten Anti-Pandemie-Maßnahmen ein, um die Ausbreitung von Infektionen im Inland einzudämmen. Das beliebte Da Nang, Heimat vieler berühmter Strände, und Quang Nam, bekannt für die UNESCO-Kulturerbestätte Hoi An, wurden daraufhin zu den größten Coronavirus-Hotspots des Landes, die beide für mehr als einen Monat gesperrt wurden.

Phong Nha flood
Zwischen Anfang Oktober und Mitte November wurden die Zentralregion und Teile des zentralen Hochlandes von einer Reihe von Stürmen heimgesucht, die sintflutartige Regenfälle mit sich brachten und zu schweren Überschwemmungen und Erdrutschen führten.

Die historischen Überschwemmungen in Zentralvietnam bremsten erneut die Tourismusbranche. Zwischen Anfang Oktober und Mitte November wurden die zentrale Region und Teile des zentralen Hochlandes von einer Reihe von Stürmen heimgesucht, die sintflutartige Regenfälle mit sich brachten und zu schweren Überschwemmungen und Erdrutschen führten.

Mindestens 192 Menschen wurden dabei getötet und 57 vermisst, die Verluste beliefen sich auf 30 Billionen VND (1,3 Mrd. $), was nach Angaben der Regierung „die schlimmsten Schäden seit Jahrzehnten“ waren.

Beliebte Touristenorte in Zentralvietnam wie Hue, Hoi An und der Phong Nha-Ke Bang Nationalpark in der Provinz Quang Binh wurden von den Fluten überschwemmt und für Touristen gesperrt.

 

Vietnam könnte in diesem Jahr aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie 23 Milliarden Dollar an Tourismuseinnahmen verlieren, was etwa 75 Prozent der letztjährigen Einnahmen der Branche entspricht, sagte der Minister für Kultur, Sport und Tourismus Nguyen Ngoc Thien letzten Monat vor der Nationalversammlung.

Aufgrund der Schließung der Grenzen und der Aussetzung von Flügen begrüßte Vietnam im Zeitraum von Januar bis November 3,8 Millionen Besucher, ein Rückgang von 76,6 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr, während die Gesamteinnahmen aus dem Tourismus auf 16,6 Billionen VND (722 Millionen Dollar) geschätzt werden, ein Rückgang von 59 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr.

Bislang ist Vietnam über drei Wochen ohne gemeinschaftliche Übertragungen ausgekommen, nachdem es in HCMC zu einem Mini-Ausbruch mit vier lokal übertragenen Fällen gekommen war, ausgelöst durch einen Flugbegleiter der Vietnam Airlines, der die Quarantänevorschriften verletzt hatte.

Dank strenger Quarantäne- und Kontaktverfolgungsmaßnahmen ist es Vietnam gelungen, Covid-19 mit nur 1.413 Infektionen und 35 Todesfällen in Schach zu halten.

Beim Newsletter anmelden

Ja, Ich möchte regelmäßig über neue Reiseideen informiert werden!

2020 © Copyright - Unseen VietNam Tours