Halong Bay - All you need to know

Ha Long means "where the dragon falls into the sea." According to legend, the islands were formed by a dragon that flew over this area and formed with its tail each valley. Then he fell into the sea and the valleys were flooded with seawater.

The entire area covers approximately 1,553 km². The center of the bay covers an area of 334 km² and is home to 775 islands. These islands are made of limestone and shale and are almost 250 million years old. Halong Bay covers an area northeast of Bai Tu Long Bay and the island of Cat Ba in the southwest. Ha Long Bay is one of the seven wonders of the world. Many visitors come here to enjoy the unique atmosphere of this beautiful place on a 1-3 day cruise between the enchanting islands in the bay.

 

HaLong Bay Highlights

Cruises include English speaking tour guides, hotel transfers, entrance fees, meals and entertainment on board. Here is an overview of everything you should know about cruising in Ha Long Bay. 

Ha Long Bay cruises vary depending on the season and weather. One of the most popular destinations in Halong Bay is Cat Ba Island which is located in the Lan Ha archipelago. Cát Bà is home to rare species, such as the Golden-headed Loon, which is native to the Cát Bà National Park. The national park occupies about half of the island area of 350 km². The combination of national park with endemic species and mighty limestone formations makes the island very worth seeing. 

Dau Be Island is 28 km from the port of Bai Chay and another island listed on most cruises in Ha Long Bay. Here is a popular bathing and diving place with beautiful corals, deep caves and six lakes. You can visit the caves at low tide with a rowing boat. Here you can watch golden monkeys and flying squirrels.

On Bo Hon Island You can find the most famous caves of Halong Bay. Sung Sot, Trinh Nu and Trong Cave are set against the background of mountains, cliffs and lush forests. 

Ti Top Island is 8 km southeast of Bai Chay Port. The island was named in 1962 after a visit by former Soviet Union astronaut Ghermann Titop. The beach is the main attraction where tourists can swim or relax. Along the Ti Top Beach are exclusive resorts, hotels, restaurants, bars and souvenir shops. Take the 400-step staircase to the top of Ti Top Island and enjoy panoramic views of Ha Long Bay. These islands have been home to locals for over 5,000 years, mainly from agriculture and fishing. Ha Long Bay is now home to only a few fishing villages, namely Cong Dam, Cua Van, Viet Hai and Vung Vieng. Here, as a traveler, you can go kayaking, visit a pearl farm, go fishing with local fishermen or just watch their daily routine.

No trip to Halong Bay is complete without a visit to the limestone caves and grottoes. In most caves there are stalactites and stalagmites that are over 2 million years old to admire. Dau Go Cave is one of the most visited caves in the bay. You can admire stalactites and stalagmites there, some of which are over 20 meters high. The cave has three main areas that are lit with natural and artificial light. There are formations in the form of humans, animals and objects. At the end of the Dau Go Cave is a small pond with clear water. Locals claim that fairies use the pond to descend to Earth.

 

 

Kayaking at Halong Bay

Trinh Nu or also Virgin Cave called houses the statue of a woman. She was turned to stone after her death because she was unable to marry an old Mandarin. A local legend says that she fled from him because her father could not pay his debts. When the fishermen found their body, they buried it and built a small shrine in the grotto.

Sung Sot Cave has two chambers with a square outer chamber and a 30 meter high limestone ceiling. In Bo Hon Island the inner chamber formations resemble guards talking to each other. In the middle of the chamber there is another formation that looks like a general overseeing his troops.

The Kissing Rocks are undoubtedly the symbols of Halong Bay. The two rocks resemble a rooster and a hen facing each other. The locals believe that they symbolize eternal love.

 

Kissing Rocks Halong Bay
Kissing Rocks - Halong Bay

The right time to visit

There are two important events, including Tet (Vietnamese New Year in January / February, dates vary) and Christmas. On these holidays, the Vietnamese stay at home, so the Ha Long Bay is not crowded, cruises and roads are beautifully decorated. The 30th of April, 1st of May and 2nd of September are holidays in Vietnam and Ha Long Bay will be full of Vietnamese tourists. Ha Long Carnaval is an annual street festival that takes place in late April or early May. An occasion for Ha Long Bay to show its cultural charm.

The first peak season lasts from June to July, attracting mainly Vietnamese and Asian travelers. The period between December and February is the second peak season with tourists from Europe, America and other countries. The first off season lasts from April to May and the second from August to October. Prices in the second peak season are generally about 10 to 20% higher than in the off season and availability may be a problem. Book your cruise early to get the best seats.

 

Tropical monsoon and coastal climate, the weather varies in 4 different seasons in the Bay. Spring lasts only two months in March and April, and is at the same time the most beautiful season with cool to warm weather. The summer lasts from May to August with glorious blue skies and emerald green waters, ideal for circumnavigating the islands. In the fall of September & October you can enjoy the quiet atmosphere. The remainder of the 4 months is Winter, and is ideal for those who want to take it easy and slow and enjoy the magical and mystical beauty of Ha Long Bay. From May to June and August to September there are rainy seasons.

Halong Bay Boats

How to get to Halong Bay

Round-trip transfers are usually arranged as part of your cruise package. The nearest airports are the international one Airport Noi Bai (in Hanoi) or Cat Bi Airport (in Hai Phong).

From Hanoi or Noi Bai International Airport to Halong Bay

Ha Long Bay is just 180 km east of Hanoi, and generally a shuttle bus or private rental car is used to transport guests. The trip usually takes between three and a half to four hours, with a break of about 20 - 30 minutes half way. 

Direct bus from Hanoi to Ha Long city (My Dinh and Yen Nghia bus stops in Hanoi), terminus is Bai Chay in Ha Long. Two reliable online bus ticket suppliers in Vietnam, with whom I have had very good travel experience in Southeast Asia, are 12Go Asia and Baolau

The international Airport Noi Bai - located 30 km north of Hanoi - is 169 km from Ha Long Bay. The trip takes about as long as the drive from Hanoi to Ha Long Bay, about 3.5 hours. If you have one private car and hire a driver, the cost is approximately $ 160 to $ 180 per vehicle, depending on the type of vehicle. 

From Hai Phong or Cat Bi Airport to Halong Bay

At only 88 km from Hai Phong distance, the drive from Hai Phong and Cat Bi Airport usually take about 2.5 hours. There are generally private cars or minivans booked. Depending on the type of vehicle, private transfers with driver are around 50 to 80 USD. Here you will find all bus connections Baolau and 12Go Asia offer.

From Ninh Binh to Halong Bay

Since Ninh Binh is about 216 km southwest of Ha Long Bay, the trip to Ninh Binh normally takes 4.5 hours. On private car is the best option for tourists who want to travel from Ninh Binh to Ha Long Bay. Alternatively, you will find here all bus connections Baolau and 12Go Asia offer.

From Ho Chi Minh City to Halong Bay

Ho Chi Minh City is located over 1,700 km south of Ha Long Bay and flying is the fastest, easiest and cheapest option. The flight time from Tan Son Nhat Airport is about two hours. You can either of the international Airport Noi Bai or fly to Cat Bi airport and then one Bus or book a private vehicle to Ha Long Bay. 

Looking for day trips and cheap deals?

Here you will find the best offers We are happy to help.

Halong Bay

Map & Location

Eine Kreuzfahrt in der Bucht des absteigenden Drachen ist ein Muss für Reisende, die nach Vietnam kommen. Halong Bay ist eines der beliebtesten Reiseziele des Landes und als UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gelistet. Die Bucht von Halong ist sowohl mystisch als auch eine unglaubliche Naturerfahrung, die jeden beeindruckt.

Found something interesting?

Explore Halong Bay with Unseen Vietnam Tours. Simply contact our travel experts from Unseen Vietnam Tours. We are happy to answer your questions and find the right cruise for you.

Tipps und Wissenswertes über die Halong Bay

Halong bedeutet ” wo der Drache ins Meer stürzt “. Der Legende nach wurden die Inseln von einem Drachen gebildet, der über dieses Gebiet flog und mit seinem hinterteil jedes Tal formte. Dann stürzte er ins Meer und die Täler wurden mit Meerwasser überflutet.

Das gesamte Gebiet umfasst rund 1.553 km². Das Zentrum der Bucht hat eine Fläche von 334 km² und beherbergt 775 Inseln. Diese Inseln bestehen aus Kalkstein und Schiefer und sind fast 250 Millionen Jahre alt. Halong Bay umfasst ein Gebiet nordöstlich der Bai Tu Long Bay und die Insel Cat Ba im Südwesten. Ha Long Bay zählt zu den sieben Weltwunder. Viele Besucher kommen hierher um bei einer 1-3-tägigen Kreuzfahrt zwischen den bezaubernden Inseln in der Bucht die einzigartige Atmosphäre dieses wunderschönen Ortes zu genießen.

 

HaLong Bay Highlights

Die Kreuzfahrten umfassen englischsprachige Reiseleiter, Hoteltransfers,Eintrittspreise, Mahlzeiten und Unterhaltungsangebote an Bord. Hier finden Sie einen Überblick über alles, was Sie über Kreuzfahrten in der Ha Long Bay wissen sollten. 

Ha Long Bay Kreuzfahrten variieren je nach Jahreszeit und Wetter. Eine der beliebtesten Ziele in der Halong Bay ist Cat Ba Island die sich im  Lan Ha Archipel befindet.  Cát Bà ist die Heimat seltener Tierarten, wie dem Goldkopflangur, der ausschließlich im Cát Bà Nationalpark beheimatet ist.  Der Nationalpark nimmt circa die Hälfte der Inselfläche von 350 km² ein. Die Kombination aus Nationalpark mit endemischen Tierarten und mächtigen Kalksteinformationen macht die Insel sehr sehenswert. 

Dau Be Island ist 28 km vom Hafen von Bai Chay entfernt und eine andere Insel, die auf den meisten Kreuzfahrten in der Ha Long Bay aufgeführt ist. Hier befindet sich ein beliebter Bade- und Tauchplatz mit wunderschönen Korallen, tiefen Grotten und sechs Binnenseen. Sie können die Höhlen bei Ebbe mit einem Ruderboot besuchen. Hier können Sie goldene Affen und fliegende Eichhörnchen beobachten.

Auf Bo Hon Island können Sie die berühmtesten Höhlen der Halong Bay finden. Sung Sot, Trinh Nu und Trong Cave befinden sich vor dem Hintergrund von Bergen, Klippen und üppigen Wäldern. 

Ti Top Island liegt 8 km südöstlich vom Bai Chay Port. Die Insel wurde 1962 nach einem Besuch des ehemaligen Astronauten der Sowjetunion, Ghermann Titop, benannt. Der Strand ist die Hauptattraktion, an der Touristen schwimmen oder sich entspannen können. Entlang des Ti Top Beach befinden sich exclusive Resorts, Hotels, Restaurants, Bars und Souvenirläden. Nehmen Sie die 400 Stufen lange Treppe zum Gipfel der Ti Top Island und genießen Sie den Panoramablick auf die Bucht von Ha Long. Diese Inseln sind seit mehr als 5000 Jahren die Heimat von Einheimischen, die hauptsächlich von Landwirtschaft und Fischerei leben. Die Ha Long Bay beherbergt heute nur noch wenige Fischerdörfer, nämlich Cong Dam, Cua Van, Viet Hai und Vung Vieng. Hier können Sie als Reisender an Kajak-Touren teilnehmen, eine Perlenfarm besuchen, mit einheimischen Fischern angeln oder einfach nur ihren Alltag beobachten.

Keine Reise in die Halong-Bucht ist ohne einen Besuch der Kalksteinhöhlen und -grotten komplett. In den meisten Höhlen gibt es Stalaktiten und Stalagmiten, die über 2 Millionen Jahre alt sind yu bewundern. Dau Go Cave ist eine der meistbesuchten Höhlen in der Bucht. Sie können dort Stalaktiten und Stalagmiten bewundern, die teilweise über 20 Meter hoch sind. Die  Höhle hat drei Hauptbereiche, die mit natürlichem und künstlichem Licht beleuchtet werden. Es gibt Formationen in Form von Menschen, Tieren und Objekten zu sehen. Am Ende der Dau Go Cave befindet sich ein kleiner Teich mit klarem Wasser. Einheimische behaupten, dass Feen den Teich nutzen, um zur Erde abzusteigen.

 

 

Kayaking at Halong Bay

Trinh Nu oder auch Virgin Cave genannt beherbergt die Statue einer Frau. Sie wurde nach ihrem Tod in Stein verwandelt, weil sie nicht in der Lage war, einen alten Mandarin zu heiraten. Eine örtliche Legende besagt, dass sie vor ihm geflohen sei, weil ihr Vater seine Schulden nicht bezahlen konnte. Als die Fischer ihre Leiche fanden, begruben sie sie und errichten einen kleinen Schrein in der Grotte.

Sung Sot Cave verfügt über zwei Kammern mit einer quadratischen Außenkammer und einer 30 Meter hohen Kalksteindecke. In Bo Hon Island ähneln die inneren Kammerformationen Wachen, die miteinander sprechen. In der Mitte der Kammer gibt es eine andere Formation, die aussieht wie ein General, der seine Truppen überwacht.

Die Kissing Rocks sind zweifellos die Symbole der Halong Bay. Die zwei Felsen ähneln einem Hahn und einer Henne, die sich gegenüberstehen. Die Einheimischen glauben, dass sie die ewige Liebe symbolisieren.

 

Kissing Rocks Halong Bay
Kissing Rocks - Halong Bay

Der richtige Zeitpunkt für einen Besuch

Es gibt zwei wichtige Ereignisse, darunter Tet (vietnamesisches Neujahr im Januar/Februar, Termine variieren) und Weihnachten. An diesen Feiertagen bleiben die Vietnamesen zu Hause, so dass die Ha Long Bay nicht überfüllt ist, Kreuzfahrten und Straßen sind schön dekoriert. Der 30. April, 1. Mai und 2. September sind Feiertage in Vietnam und die Ha Long Bay wird voll von vietnamesischer Touristen sein.  Der Ha Long Carnaval ist ein jährliches Straßenfest, das Ende April oder Anfang Mai stattfindet. Ein Anlass für die Ha Long Bay, ihren kulturellen Charme zu zeigen.

Die erste Hauptsaison dauert von Juni bis Juli, was vor allem vietnamesische und asiatische Reisende anzieht. Der Zeitraum zwischen Dezember und Februar ist die zweite Hauptsaison mit Touristen aus Europa, Amerika und anderen Ländern. Die erste Nebensaison dauert von April bis Mai und die zweite von August bis Oktober. Preise in der zweiten Hauptsaison sind im Allgemeinen etwa 10 bis 20% höher als in der Nebensaison und die Verfügbarkeit kann ein Problem sein. Buchen Sie Ihre Kreuzfahrt früh, um sich die besten Plätze zu sichern.

 

Das Wetter in der Halong Bay

Tropischer Monsun und Küstenklima, das Wetter variiert in 4 verschiedenen Jahreszeiten in der Bay. Der Frühling dauert nur zwei Monate im März und April, und ist gleichzeitig die schönste Jahreszeit mit kühlem bis warmem Wetter. Der Sommer dauert von Mai bis August mit herrlichen blauen Himmel und smaragdgrünem Wasser, ideal um die Inseln zu umschiffen. Im Herbst September & Oktober genießen Sie die ruhige Atmosphäre. In den verbleibenden 4 Monaten ist Winter und der eignet sich besonders für Reisende, die es ruhig und langsam angehen und die magische und mystische Schönheit der Ha Long Bay genießen wollen. Mai bis Juni und August bis September herrscht Regenzeiten.

Halong Bay Boats

Wie kommt man zur Halong Bay

Die Hin- und Rückfahrt Transfers sind normalerweise als Teil Ihres Kreuzfahrt-Pakets arrangiert. Die nächstgelegenen Flughäfen sind der internationale Flughafen Noi Bai (in Hanoi) oder der Flughafen Cat Bi (in Hai Phong).

Von Hanoi oder vom Noi Bai Internationalem Flughafen zur Halong Bay

Ha Long Bay befindet sich nur ca. 180 km östlich von Hanoi, und im Allgemeinen wird ein Shuttle-Bus oder ein privater Mietwagen eingesetzt, um die Gäste zu transportieren. Die Fahrt dauert normalerweise zwischen dreieinhalb und vier Stunden, mit einer Pause von etwa 20 – 30 Minuten auf halbem Weg. 

Direkter Bus von Hanoi nach Ha Long Stadt (My Dinh und Yen Nghia Bushaltestellen in Hanoi), Endstation ist Bai Chay in Ha Long. Zwei zuverlässiger Onlineanbieter für Bustickets in Vietnam, mit denen ich bisher sehr gute Erfahrungen bei Reisen in Südostasien gemacht habe, sind 12Go Asia und Baolau

Der internationale Flughafen Noi Bai – der sich 30 km nördlich von Hanoi befindet – ist 169 km von der Ha Long Bay entfernt. Die Fahrt dauert etwa genauso lange wie die Fahrt von Hanoi zur Ha Long Bay, etwa 3,5 Stunden. Wenn Sie ein privates Fahrzeug und einen Fahrer mieten möchten, liegen die Kosten je nach Fahrzeugtyp bei ca. USD 160 bis USD 180 pro Fahrzeug. 

Vom Hai Phong oder Cat Bi Flughafen zur Halong Bay

Mit nur etwa 88 km von Hai Phong Entfernung, dauert die Fahrt von Hai Phong – und Cat Bi Airport normalerweise etwa 2,5 Stunden. Es werden im Allgemeinen private Fahrzeuge oder Mini-Vans gebucht. Private Transfers mit Fahrer liegen je nach Fahrzeugart bei ca. 50 bis 80 USD. Hier finden Sie alle Busverbindungen die Baolau und 12Go Asia anbieten.

Von Ninh Binh zur Halong Bay

Da Ninh Binh etwa 216 km südwestlich von Ha Long Bay liegt, dauert die Fahrt nach Ninh Binh normalerweise 4,5 Stunden. Ein privates Fahrzeug ist die beste Möglichkeit für Urlauber die von Ninh Binh zur Ha Long Bay fahren möchten. Alternativ finden Sie hier alle Busverbindungen die Baolau und 12Go Asia anbieteten.

Von Ho Chi Minh Stadt zur Halong Bay

Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt liegt über 1.700 km südlich von Ha Long Bay und Fliegen ist die schnellste, einfachste und billigste Option. Die Flugzeit vom Tan Son Nhat Flughafen beträgt rund zwei Stunden. Sie können entweder vom internationalen Flughafen Noi Bai oder zum Flughafen Cat Bi fliegen und dann einen Bus nehmen, oder ein privates Fahrzeug zur Ha Long Bay buchen. 

Auf der Suche nach Tagesausflügen und Günstigen Angeboten ?

Hier finden Sie die Besten Angebote. Wir beraten Sie Gerne.

Halong Bucht

Map & Location

Eine Kreuzfahrt in der Bucht des absteigenden Drachen ist ein Muss für Reisende, die nach Vietnam kommen. Halong Bay ist eines der beliebtesten Reiseziele des Landes und als UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gelistet. Die Bucht von Halong ist sowohl mystisch als auch eine unglaubliche Naturerfahrung, die jeden beeindruckt.

Etwas Interessantes gefunden?

Erkunden Sie die Halong-Bucht mit Unseen Vietnam Tours. Wenden Sie sich einfach an unsere Reiseexperten von Unseen Vietnam Tours. Gerne beantworten wir Ihre Fragen und finden die passende Kreuzfahrt für Sie.
Fabian

We saw the real life of the people

We saw the real life of the people, living in the Mekong Delta. They showed us how they live, how...

Fabian Stegmaier

Germany

Unseen vietnam tours
5.0
2019-01-18T19:32:23+00:00

Fabian Stegmaier

Germany

Fabian
We saw the real life of the people, living in the Mekong Delta. They showed us how they live, how they cook, and how they have a good time while singing karaoke. We saw the floating market and the night market of Can Tho and we went to places, which you can’t find by your own.
Lucas Neubauer

Wahnsinnig schöne Touren

Perfekte Beratung, wahnsinnig schöne Touren, sowie Orte, an die man sonst nicht kommt. Danke an Heinz für den tollen Aufenthalt...

Lucas Neubauer

Moderne Küchentechnik GmbH - Germany

Unseen vietnam tours
5.0
2018-12-08T11:20:28+00:00

Lucas Neubauer

Moderne Küchentechnik GmbH - Germany

Lucas Neubauer
Perfekte Beratung, wahnsinnig schöne Touren, sowie Orte, an die man sonst nicht kommt. Danke an Heinz für den tollen Aufenthalt und die viele Unterstützung.
Private Transfer

Excellent Guide, Car and experience. 

Excellent Guide, Car and experience. Brilliant service and fast responses on email. We were never rushed at any of the...

Phuc Nguyen

HCMC -Vietnam

Unseen vietnam tours
5.0
2018-12-08T12:00:27+00:00

Phuc Nguyen

HCMC -Vietnam

Private Transfer
Excellent Guide, Car and experience. Brilliant service and fast responses on email. We were never rushed at any of the sightseeing or lunch spots along the way . Our friendly Guide Lien spokes excellent English and gave us a lot of informations during the trip to Mekong Delta.
Thomas Penzenstadler

Absolute Top Beratung

Die absolute Top Beratung und der reibungslose Ablauf der gebuchten Touren, das Essen sowie die Unterkunft bzw. Unterkünfte während unserer...

Thomas Penzenstadler

Germany

Unseen vietnam tours
5.0
2018-12-08T11:32:00+00:00

Thomas Penzenstadler

Germany

Thomas Penzenstadler
Die absolute Top Beratung und der reibungslose Ablauf der gebuchten Touren, das Essen sowie die Unterkunft bzw. Unterkünfte während unserer Reise. 
Steven

This is truly off-the-beaten path

The food was exquisite and more than we could eat. From a traditional Mekong BBQ with fresh caught fish, boarding...

Steven Van de Heijning

HCMC -Vietnam

Unseen vietnam tours
5.0
2019-01-01T10:11:56+00:00

Steven Van de Heijning

HCMC -Vietnam

Steven
The food was exquisite and more than we could eat. From a traditional Mekong BBQ with fresh caught fish, boarding one of the boats at the floating market in Can Tho, picking our own fruits, cruising on the local ferry boats, karaoke (of course), just chilling in a hammock and much more...and that all without another tourist in sight.
5
5