THE BEST TRAVEL TIME FOR VIETNAM

Vietnam Weather Map

Unfortunately, the best travel time for Vietnam can not always be determined as a whole because the climate is heavily influenced by regional geographic conditions. The good thing is, if the holiday period is flexible you can always find a part of the country that you can currently traveling very well. To better understand the best travel time for Vietnam, it is worth knowing that Vietnam can be roughly divided into 3 climate zones, namely in North, Central and South Vietnam, with the north again in the higher mountain regions in Hanoi and the Halong Bay divide up.

Phong Nha Eco Farm

Phong Nha - Central Vietnam

Best travel time Vietnam for the mountainous regions in the far north

The climate in Sapa and Vietnam's extreme northwest is divided into two seasons, the dry season from October to the end of March with the rainy season from April to September with sometimes very low temperatures in December and January. It is best to travel the mountainous north during the dry season, to avoid trekking you should avoid the cold months.

Best time to go to North Vietnam (Hanoi and Halong Bay)

In Hanoi and the surrounding area there are two seasons, winter and summer. The cool but mostly dry winters last from November to April, although it can get very cold in January to March. From May to October, summer weather is hot, it is hot and humid, with July to September often being the wettest months (rainy season) of the year. It will be unbearably hot in the city and it can lead to bad weather in Halong Bay.

Our recommendation: touring Halong Bay and Hanoi in March-April or October-November. Bring warm clothes during the winter months, and avoid the hot summers in Hanoi.

Best time to go to Central Vietnam 

As the best travel time for Central Vietnam around Da Nang, Hue, Phong Nha and Hoi An we recommend the months February, March, April and May. At this time there is perfect weather. Daytime temperatures between 26 and 32 degrees Celsius provide the best conditions for a great holiday. In these months, you do not have to worry about much rainfall. The rainy days per month are here at three to six days.

From May, the temperatures rise again extremely. Who can not stand with temperatures up to 34 degrees Celsius, should avoid the months of May to August as travel time. Overall, the months of January to August to a very acceptable travel time, as there is dry season.

The rainy season lasts from about October to December.

Hoi An

Hoi An Boote

Best time to go to South Vietnam

If it is usually bitterly cold in Europe, we recommend a trip to the south of Vietnam. The best time to go to South Vietnam is from December to April. The rainy days per month are just two to seven, with December being the rainiest. In February the rainfall is lowest. March and April are the hottest months of the dry season. But due to the dry air, the temperatures of 33 to 34 degrees Celsius are good to endure.

When traveling during the dry season to South Vietnam, from November to early May, you can not go wrong.

The rainy season prevails in the south of Vietnam from May to October. Especially in the months of June, July, August and September falls here a lot of rain. Although it does not rain all day, but always for a short time and then very violent. Nevertheless, even in the rainy season the temperatures here are always summery and fall in the south of Vietnam, around Ho Chi Minh City, the whole year not below the 20 degrees Celsius mark.

The best travel time for Vietnam - Our conclusion

Establishing a universally valid travel time for Vietnam is very difficult. Due to the geographical conditions, each region has a different optimal travel time. Basically, we recommend traveling to Vietnam in the dry season of each region. Furthermore, the temperatures are pleasantly mild and not too hot. The humidity is moving at a more comfortable level. Plan your Vietnam trip earlier this year, be sure to check when the Vietnamese New Year is taking place. It is usually late January, early February. Many Vietnamese use the Holiday season (Tet festival) to travel. Popular resorts can get crowded at this time and hotel prices can be expensive. On the other hand, many shops and restaurants are closed, as the Vietnamese themselves are on vacation.

[testimonial_rotator id=1534]

The latest

Travel tips and information

Booking.com

DIE BESTE REISEZEIT FÜR VIETNAM

Vietnam Weather Map

Die beste Reisezeit für Vietnam lässt sich leider nicht immer pauschal bestimmen da das Klima stark von regionalen geografischen Gegebenheiten beeinflusst wird. Das gute daran ist, wenn der Urlaubszeitraum flexibel ist findet man immer einen Teil des Landes der sich gerade sehr gut bereisen lässt. Um besser zu verstehen die beste Reisezeit für Vietnam ist es wissenswert das sich Vietnam grob in 3 Klimazonen einteilen lässt, und zwar in Nord-, Zentral- und Südvietnam, wobei sich der Norden nochmals in die höheren Bergregionen in  Hanoi und die Halong Bucht aufteilen lässt.

Phong Nha Eco Farm

Phong Nha – Zentralvietnam

Beste Reisezeit Vietnam für die Bergregionen im hohen Norden

Das Klima in Sapa und Vietnams äußersten Nordwesten ist in zwei Jahreszeiten unterteilt, in die Trockenzeit von Oktober bis Ende März mit der Regenzeit von April bis September mit mitunter sehr niedrigen Temperaturen im Dezember und Januar. Optimal ist der bergige Norden während der Trockenzeit zu bereisen, zum Trekking sollten Sie die kalten Monate vermeiden.

Beste Reisezeit für Nordvietnam (Hanoi und die Halong Bucht)

In Hanoi und Umgebung  gibt es zwei 2 Jahreszeiten, Winter und Sommer. Die kühlen aber meist trocken Winter dauern von November bis April, wobei es im Januar bis März sehr kalt werden kann. Mai bis Oktober ist Sommerwetter angesagt, es ist heiß und feucht, wobei Juli bis September oft die feuchtesten Monate (Regensaison) des Jahres sind. Da wird es unerträglich heiß in der Stadt wird und es kann zu Unwettern in der Halong Bucht kommen.

Unsere Empfehlung: Die Halong Bay und Hanoi im März-April oder Oktober-November bereisen. In den Übergangsmonaten im Winter warme Kleidung mitbringen, und die heißen Sommer in Hanoi meiden.

Beste Reisezeit für Zentralvietnam 

Als beste Reisezeit für Zentralvietnam rund um Da Nang,Hue, Phong Nha und Hoi An empfehlen wir die Monate Februar, März, April und Mai. Zu dieser Zeit herrscht ideales Wetter. Tagestemperaturen zwischen 26 und 32 Grad Celsius bieten die besten Voraussetzungen für einen schönen Urlaub. In diesen Monaten müssen Sie sich  nicht um viel Niederschlag sorgen. Die Regentage pro Monat liegen hier bei drei bis sechs Tagen.

Ab Mai steigen die Temperaturen wieder extrem an. Wer mit Temperaturen bis zu 34 Grad Celsius nicht erträgt, sollte die Monate Mai bis August als Reisezeit vermeiden. Insgesamt zählen die Monate Januar bis August zu einer sehr annehmbaren Reisezeit, da Trockenzeit herrscht.

Die Regenzeit dauert in etwa von Oktober bis Dezember.

Hoi An

Hoi An Boote

Beste Reisezeit für Süd-Vietnam

Wenn es in Deutschland meistens bitterkalt ist, empfiehlt sich eine Reise in den Süden Vietnams. Als beste Reisezeit für Südvietnam gelten die Monate Dezember bis April.  Die Regentage pro Monat liegen bei gerade mal zwei bis sieben, wobei der Dezember der niederschlagsreichste ist. Im Februar fällt am wenigsten Regen. März und April sind hier die heißesten Monate in der Trockenzeit. Doch aufgrund der trockenen Luft sind die Temperaturen von 33 bis 34 Grad Celsius gut zu ertragen.

Bei Reisen während der Trockenzeit nach Südvietnam, von November bis Anfang Mai, kann man nichts falsch machen.

Die Regenzeit herrscht im Süden Vietnams von Mai bis Oktober. Insbesondere in den Monaten Juni, Juli, August und September fällt hier sehr viel Regen. Zwar regnet es nicht den ganzen Tag, dafür aber immer für kurze Zeit und dann sehr heftig. Dennoch sind die Temperaturen auch in der Regenzeit hier immer sommerlich warm und fallen im Süden Vietnams, rund um Ho Chi Minh-Stadt, das ganze Jahr nicht unter die 20 Grad Celsius Marke.

Die beste Reisezeit für Vietnam – Unser Fazit

Eine allgemein gültige beste Reisezeit für Vietnam festzulegen, ist sehr schwierig. Aufgrund der geografischen Gegebenheiten gilt für jede Region eine andere optimale Reisezeit. Grundsätzlich empfehle wir in  der Trockenzeit der jeweiligen Region nach Vietnam zu reisen. Des Weiteren sind die Temperaturen angenehm mild und nicht zu heiß. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit bewegt sich auf einem angenehmeren Niveau. Planen Sie Ihr Vietnam Reise zu Beginn des Jahres, sollten Sie sich darüber informieren, wann das vietnamesische Neujahrsfest stattfindet. In der Regel ist es Ende Januar, Anfang Februar. Viele Vietnamesen nutzen die Ferienzeit (Tet festival) um zu verreisen. Beliebte Urlaubsorte können zu dieser Zeit überfüllt und die Hotelpreise können teuer sein. Auf der anderen Seite sind viele Shops und Restaurants geschlossen, da die Vietnamesen selbst im Urlaub sind.