BY TRAIN THROUGH VIETNAM

Mit der Bahn durch Vietnam – By Vietnam Railway Map.svg, Vietnam_map.svg: Mouagipderivative work: Dragfyrederivative work: Dragfyre – Vietnam Railway Map.svgRailway data based on CADer’s detailed railway map, which is based on data from Vietnam Railways, official road maps (Bản đồ Giao thông Việt Nam) and Google Maps., CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=14732619

The train is one of the most popular transportation in Vietnam. If you're planning a trip by train through Vietnam, here are some helpful tips for you: which train classes are there, how to eat in the trains and on the train stations, where you can find timetables and online train tickets for Vietnam and where to find the most scenic rail routes. During a trip through Vietnam you should definitely take part of the tour with the train. There you get a good Insight into Vietnamese life, Most towns along the coast and Sa Pa in the north are easily accessible by train.Map planning

Quality differences and timetables

There are quality and price differences with the Vietnamese railway depending on the train number. The trains between Hanoi and Saigon starting with "SE" are the fastest on the way and equipped with the highest quality.

The train classes in Vietnam

In Vietnam there are four classes:

  • Hard-Seater (wooden benches)
  • Soft-Seater (padded seats)
  • Hard-Sleeper (similar to a couchette car)
  • Soft-Sleeper

For the Hard-Seater compartments you get the cheapest tickets. The seats, however, are not really comfortable. On the wooden benches, part of the train journey can be spent in an adventurous way, but for longer distances it is clearly too uncomfortable. The windows can be opened, but are barred for safety reasons. Fans provide cooling. Also, the cheap Hard-Seater seats are not offered on all trains.

Hardseater Compartment

Hard Seater Abteil Vietnam

Softsleeper Compartment

Soft Seater Abteil

Soft-Seater seats are upholstered seats and in air-conditioned compartments, where you can travel well even for longer distances. Windows can not be opened in the Soft-Seater compartment because of the air conditioning.

Hard Sleeper compartments are similar to a couchette car. In each compartment that can be locked, there are 6 beds. The lowest are the most expensive places. The further up the sunbed is, the cheaper the sleeping place. It is important to know that the highest mooring also offers the least space.

Hardsleeper Compartment

Hard-sleeper-Abteil

Softsleeper Compartment

Soft-sleeper-Abteil

Four passengers share a compartment in the Soft Sleeper Wagon. The compartment can be locked and offers a bit more comfort than the Hard Sleeper Wagon. Again, the upper berths are cheaper.

Eating on the train

Food, snacks and drinks are bought directly in the compartment. In the dining car, the selection is larger. Menus for lunch and dinner can be pre-ordered on many trains at the conductor. Every few hours, the train stops at a station for a long time. There, numerous food stands provide the passengers.

Eat in the Softsleeper compartment

Essen im Sleeper Zug

Sea view from the cloud pass

Meerblick Hai Van

The most beautiful train route in Vietnam

On the railway line Hanoi - Saigon is the most beautiful stretch between Hue and Da Nang. The train slowly drives along the coast over the (Hai Van Pass) cloud pass. You should not miss the city-exit and the life on the tracks in Hanoi.

Train delays in Vietnam

If everything runs smoothly, the railway will be on time. Vietnam is repeatedly hit by heavy storms, especially in the rainy season. Heavy rains or a cyclone will affect the timetable. Hours of delay or train cancellations due to flooded or squashed tracks are not uncommon.

If you want to travel by train during the rainy season, you should take this into account.

Train at Hai Van Pass (Cloud Pass)

Zug am Hai Van Pass

Buy train tickets for Vietnam online or at the counter

It is ideal to buy the train tickets in Vietnam a few days before the trip at the station. Unfortunately the tickets are often sold out on the day of travel. For travelers on a tight schedule, buying a train ticket on the Internet is popular. Two reliable online train ticket providers in Vietnam, with whom I have had very good travel experience in Southeast Asia so far 12Go Asia and Baolau. There you can book a train ticket for the train through Vietnam online. Please note that online booking may not offer all train classes or trains.

Below you will find all the train, bus and ferry services that Baolau offers:

Below are the train, bus and ferry connections from 12GoAsia:

Powered by 12Go Asia system

The latest

Travel tips and information

Temple Saigon Unseen Vietnam Tours
Cho Do Market saigon
City of Ghosts Hue
Ben Duoc Tunnel

MIT DER BAHN DURCH VIETNAM

By Vietnam Railway Map.svg, Vietnam_map.svg: Mouagipderivative work: Dragfyrederivative work: Dragfyre – Vietnam Railway Map.svgRailway data based on CADer’s detailed railway map, which is based on data from Vietnam Railways, official road maps (Bản đồ Giao thông Việt Nam) and Google Maps., CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=14732619

Der Zug ist eines der beliebtesten Verkehrsmitteln in Vietnam.  Sollten Sie eine Reise mit der Bahn durch Vietnam planen, dann habe ich hier ein paar hilfreiche Tipps für Sie: z.B. welche Zugklassen es gibt, wie die Verpflegung in den Zügen und auf den Bahnhöfen ist, wo Sie Fahrpläne und Online-Zugtickets für Vietnam finden und wo sich die landschaftlich schönsten Bahnstrecken befinden.Während einer Reise durch Vietnam sollten Sie unbedingt einen Teil der Tour mit der Bahn zurücklegen. Dort erhalten Sie einen guten Einblick ins vietnamesische Leben. Die meisten Städte entlang der Küste sowie Sa Pa ganz im Norden sind mit dem Zug  sehr gut erreichbar.Map planning

Qualitätsunterschiede und Fahrpläne

Qualitäts- und Preisunterschiede gibt es bei der vietnamesischen Eisenbahn je nach Zugnummer. Die Züge zwischen Hanoi und Saigon beginnend mit „SE“ sind am schnellsten unterwegs und am hochwertigsten ausgestattet.

Die Zug-Klassen in Vietnam

In Vietnam wird zwischen vier Klassen unterschieden:

  • Hard-Seater (Holzbänke)
  • Soft-Seater (gepolsterte Sitze)
  • Hard-Sleeper (ähnlich einem Liegewagen)
  • Soft-Sleeper (Schlafwagen)

Für die  Hard-Seater Waggons gibt es die günstigsten Tickets. Die Sitzplätze machen allerdings ihrem Namen alle Ehre. Auf den Holzbänken lässt sich zwar ein Teil der Zugreise auf abenteuerliche Weise verbringen, für längere Strecken ist es aber eindeutig zu unbequem.Die Fenster können geöffnet werden, sind aber aus Sicherheitsgründen vergittert. Ventilatoren sorgen für Kühlung. Auch werden die billigen Hard-Seater Plätze werden nicht in allen Zügen angeboten.

Hardseater Zugabteil

Hard Seater Abteil Vietnam

Softsleeper Zugabteil

Soft Seater Abteil

Soft-Seater Sitze sind gepolsterte Sitze und in klimatisierten Waggons, auf denen man auch für längere Distanzen gut reisen kann. Fenster können im Soft-Seater Abteils wegen der Klimaanlage nicht geöffnet werden.

Hard-Sleeper Waggons entsprechen in etwa einem Liegewagen. In jedem Abteil, das verschlossen werden kann, befinden sich 6 Bettplätze. Die untersten sind die teuersten Plätze. Je weiter oben sich die Liege befindet desto günstiger ist der Schlafplatz. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass der oberste Liegeplatz auch am wenigsten Platz bietet.

Hardsleeper Zugabteil

Hard-sleeper-Abteil

Softsleeper Zugabteil

Soft-sleeper-Abteil

Im Soft-Sleeper Waggon teilen sich vier Reisende ein Abteil. Es entspricht unserem Schlafwagen. Das Abteil kann verschlossen werden und bietet etwas mehr Komfort als das Hard-Sleeper Waggon. Auch hier gilt: Die oberen Bettplätze sind billiger.

Essen im Zug

Speisen, Snacks und Getränke werden direkt im Abteil erkauft. Im Speisewagen ist die Auswahl größer. Menüs zum Mittag- und Abendessen können in vielen Zügen beim Schaffner vorbestellt werden. Alle paar Stunden hält der Zug längere Zeit in einem Bahnhof. Dort versorgen zahlreiche Essensstände die Fahrgäste.

Essen im Softsleeper Abteil

Essen im Sleeper Zug

Meerblick vom Wolkenpass

Meerblick Hai Van

Die schönste Zugstrecke in Vietnam

Auf der Bahnstrecke Hanoi – Saigon liegt der schönste Streckenabschnitt zwischen Hue und Da Nang. Der Zug fährt hier langsam entlang der Küste über den (Hai Van Pass) Wolkenpass. Auch die Stadt-Ausfahrt und das Leben auf den Gleisen in Hanoi sollten Sie nicht versäumen.

Zugverspätungen in Vietnam

Wenn alles glatt läuft fährt auch die Eisenbahn pünktlich. Vietnam wird immer wieder von schweren Unwettern, speziell in der Regenzeit, heimgesucht. Heftige Regenfälle oder ein Zyklon wirken sich dann auch auf den Fahrplan aus. Stundenlange Verspätungen oder Zugausfälle sind wegen überschwemmten oder vermurten Gleisen allerdings auch keine Seltenheit.

Wer zur Regenzeit mit dem Zug durch Vietnam reisen möchte sollte dies unbedingt berücksichtigen.

Zug am Hai Van Pass (Wolkenpass)

Zug am Hai Van Pass

Zugtickets für Vietnam Online oder am Schalter kaufen

Ideal ist es die Zugtickets in Vietnam ein paar Tage vor der Fahrt am Bahnhof zu kaufen. Am Reisetag sind die Fahrkarten leider oft ausverkauft. Bei Reisenden mit einem knappen Zeitplan ist der Bahnticket-Kauf im Internet beliebt. Zwei zuverlässiger Onlineanbieter für Zugtickets in Vietnam, mit denen ich bisher sehr gute Erfahrungen bei Reisen in Südostasien gemacht sind, ist 12Go Asia und Baolau. Dort kann ein Zugticket für Vietnam online gebucht werden. Beachten Sie bitte, dass bei der Onlinebuchung eventuell nicht alle Zugklassen oder Züge angeboten werden.

Hier unten finden Sie alle Zug-,Bus- und Fährverbindungen die Baolau anbietet:

Hier unten finden Sie die Zug-,Bus- und Fährverbindungen von 12GoAsia:

Powered by 12Go Asia system